Recent Articles

Oakland Symphony Opens 2016-2017 Season October 14

  • October 14, 2016
  • $25-$80

The Oakland Symphony and Music Director Michael Morgan open the 2016-2017 season with the return of charismatic baritone Hadleigh Adams singing Mahler’s Rückert Lieder and the debut of the Delphi Trio performing Paul Juon’s Episodes Concertantes Friday, October 14, at 8 pm at the Paramount Theatre in Oakland. The program opens with Clark Suprynowicz’s Red States, Blue States (2008) in recognition of the elections this November, and concludes with Elgar’s In the South. There will be a pre-concert talk, free to ticket-holders, beginning at 7 pm, and opening night is sponsored, in part, by Wells Fargo. “Our Opening Night celebrates a variety of young artists of the very highest caliber and opens with a piece referencing our upcoming elections,” says Maestro Morgan. “I take every opportunity to connect the Oakland Symphony to current events and none is more important to our community than an election. Music and Democracy, celebrated together.”

Date: October 14, 2016
Times: 4:00PM - 8:00PM
Cost: $25-$80
Paramount Theatre
2025 Broadway
Oakland, CA 94612
Share on